78 Years Ago Yesterday…

In a house that someone used to live in, little Donny Preston, also known as little Dom DeWilde or little Biff Debrie, was born on September 21st, 1932 in Flint, Michigan.

Happy Birthday, Don!
Continue reading “78 Years Ago Yesterday…”

Gil Scott-Heron – Me and the Devil (2010)

I recall the first time I ever encountered the work of Gil Scott-Heron, I was in my mid teens and I had just borrowed a load of records, among them his 1971 release, Pieces of a Man from the public library on a whim (I had never heard of him before). I did that a lot back then – borrow whole batches of vinyl records during the summer vacation and listen to albums all week long. When I got home and slipped Pieces of a Man onto the turntable for the first time, Gil Scott-Heron blew my mind, especially with spoken word and vocal jazz tracks like “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised”, “Home Is Where The Hatred Is” and “Lady Day & John Coltrane” (all video clips below) to name just a few.
Continue reading “Gil Scott-Heron – Me and the Devil (2010)”

The Next Zappa Release: Joe’s Menage a Trois

Shore Fire, the PR firm that has the ZFT as one of its clients states it quite clearly:

June 11
Zappa Records releases Frank Zappa’s Joe’s Menage a Trois’

The new release is also mentioned in this Variety article.

(Hat tip: Maroual)

Update June 12 2010: No mention of a release anywhere. KUR-reader Rob wrote to Shore Fire yesterday, and got this rather odd answer:

Hi there,
Lauretta at Shore Fire here. Will you please let me know where you received info on a Frank Zappa release?

You’d think the people at Shore Fire at least read their own press releases…

New Frank Zappa Release: Philly ’76

Zappa: Philly 76

Here’s the email announcement, and here’s the pre-order page.

The internet largely agrees this 2 Disc release is the Spectrum Theater in Philadelphia show from 29 October 1976. The band: FZ, Bozzio, Ray White, Patrick O’Hearn, Eddie Jobson and Bianca Thornton.
Continue reading “New Frank Zappa Release: Philly ’76”

Napoleon’s New Album: Pre-Order Now

We reported on Napoleon M. Brock’s new album “This Is What Frank Zappa Heard” a couple of weeks ago. Now you can pre-order with the aid of this handy Word document. As a reminder of what this release is about, a quote:

On August 8th, 1973, Frank Zappa was alerted by his road manager, Marty Perellis, that an incredible band with an extraordinary lead singer was performing downtown to a standing room only audience … and that it might be wise that he come and see this for himself.
When Zappa went to the club and watched the show, he saw a young talent sing, dance, play sax, flute and keyboards, in a manner that clearly made it appear that he was having more fun than even the other patrons in the club.
After two hours of observing and listening to this young man and his very disciplined band of musicians, he introduced himself as Frank Zappa, and the young man introduced himself as Napoleon Murphy Brock. The next words out of Zappa’s mouth were, “You are my new lead vocalist.”

Me thinks Mrs Barry’s Imaginary Publisher is going to want this…

Napoleon: This Is What Frank Zappa Heard – Just In Case You Were Wondering

News from the Idiot Bastard, that might bring some tiny smile on your face:

…in December, Napoleon Murphy Brock will release This Is What Frank Zappa Heard – Just In Case You Were Wondering. Recorded live at The Red Noodle in Waikiki, Hawaii on 8 August 1973 on a TEAC 4-track reel-to-reel, the CD has been digitally enhanced and “will put you at the next table to where Frank was sitting, and you will experience what Frank Zappa experienced and what later was described as ‘the audition of a lifetime’”. By pre-ordering now, you can save yourself shipping charges, so you’ll pay just 15 Euros on its release. Email nmubrock@pacbell.net for more.

Of course you know this beautiful interview already in which Nappy tells the whole story (Idiot Bastard, again, from 2002).

Philly Cheez

This just in by way of Andrew:

In a very recent interview, Dweezil said a live FZ concert circa 1976 will be released soon featuring Terry Bozzio and “a female singer”. Word is, Vaulternative will issue a CD of the Spectrum Theater in Philadelphia show from 29 October that year. Band was FZ, Bozzio, Ray White, Patrick O’Hearn, Eddie Jobson and Bianca Thornton.

Set list was:

  1. Purple Lagoon intro
  2. Stink-Foot
  3. Poodle Lecture
  4. Dirty Love
  5. Wind Up Workin’ In A Gas Station
  6. Tryin’ To Grow A Chin
  7. The Torture Never Stops
  8. City Of Tiny Lites (incl. The Sanzini Brothers Pyramid Trick)
  9. You Didn’t Try To Call Me
  10. Manx Needs Women
  11. Titties ‘N’ Beer
  12. Black Napkins
  13. Advance Romance
  14. Honey, Don’t You Want A Man Like Me?
  15. Rudy Wants To Buy Yez A Drink
  16. Would You Go All The Way?
  17. Daddy Daddy Daddy
  18. What Kind Of Girl Do You Think We Are?
  19. Dinah-Moe Humm
  20. Purple Lagoon reprise
  21. Stranded In The Jungle
  22. Find Her Finer
  23. Camarillo Brillo
  24. Muffin Man
  25. Purple Lagoon outro.

No word on the 40th anniversary edition of Cruisin’ With Ruben yet.

Adrian Belew’s “E”

A brand new album for the Power Trio – the tracks are: a. b. c. d. e. – hehe. See the post on Adrian Belew’s blog, and you can buy it here (via: The Idiot Bastard).

“The band also recently issued a Live Overseas album on iTunes (which includes Neurotica and Frame By Frame, neither of which appeared on the excellent Side Four Live)”

Bruce Cockburn – Moment of Truth

Shot near the conclusion of his world tour “Breakfast in New Orleans, Dinner in Timbuktu”, Moment of Truth is an hour-long concert special with Bruce Cockburn, filmed at Montreal’s Spectrum during the Montreal Jazz Festival in Montreal, Quebec, Canada on May 23rd, 2000.
Continue reading “Bruce Cockburn – Moment of Truth”