The MOFO Project/Object

thumbnail unavailable

Released: December 2006


DISC 1: Freak Out! Original Vinyl Stereo Mix

  1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy (3:33)
  2. I Ain’t Got No Heart (2:35)
  3. Who Are The Brain Police? (3:26)
  4. Go Cry On Somebody Else’s Shoulder (3:43)
  5. Motherly Love (2:50)
  6. How Could I Be Such A Fool? (2:17)
  7. Wowie Zowie (2:56)
  8. You Didn’t Try To Call Me (3:22)
  9. Anyway The Wind Blows (2:56)
  10. I’m Not Satisfied (2:42)
  11. You’re Probably Wondering Why I’m Here (3:42)
  12. Trouble Every Day (5:53)
  13. Help, I’m A Rock (4:43)
  14. It Can’t Happen Here (3:59)
  15. Return Of The Son Of Monster Magnet (12:23)


  1. Trouble Every Day (Basic Tracks) (7:07)
  2. Who Are The Brain Police? (3:24)
  3. I Ain’t Got No Heart (Basic Tracks) (2:34) – stereo
  4. You Didn’t Try To Call Me (Basic Tracks) (2:58) – stereo
  5. How Could I Be Such A Fool? (2:11)
  6. Anyway The Wind Blows (2:51) – 1987 FZ Remix
  7. Go Cry On Somebody Else’s Shoulder (Vocal Overdub Take 2) (3:47)
  8. Motherly Love (Vocal Overdub Master Takes) (3:09)
  9. “Tom Wilson” (0:33)
  10. “My Pet Theory” (2:18)
  11. Hungry Freaks, Daddy (Basic Tracks) (3:26)
  12. Help, I’m A Rock (4:43) – 1970 FZ Remix
  13. It Can’t Happen Here (3:58) – 1970 FZ Remix
  14. Freak Out Drum Track w/Timp. & Lion (4:04)
  15. Watts Riot Demo/Fillmore Sequence (2:07)
  16. Freak Out Zilofone (3:00)
  17. “Low Budget Rock & Roll Band” (2:42)

4 thoughts on “The MOFO Project/Object”

  1. No one wants to stick their neck out with a review? OK, I will.

    Disc One sounds great. Is there a plan in place to upgrade sound of the entire catalog? ZFT with an actual plan? I doubt it…

    Disc Two – who needs it? Just an excuse to run up the price, as far as I’m concerned.

    THE VAULT is a myth.

  2. For me, the early years of the Mothers were the least interesting, when listening to Freak Out, I find myself skipping tracks or simply putting on the better versions of the songs off later albums. Guess you had to be there to love it. I know it was ground breaking and all that, it’s just that 70’s & 80’s FZ is just far more interesting, clever and masterful. Yet more very early FZ is getting tiresome (Corsage, Xmasage, MOFO….)

  3. If you’re a big Freak fan and like the Ryko release of FO, keep it. If you are a big MoFo fan, you may want to pick up the Ryko Pinske/Harris mix. People say that this Original Vinyl Stereo mix is so much different but let’s not forget that the Ryko mix is so much different than the Original Vinyl. The Mofo version brings out more of the fuzz guitar while the instrumentation is obscured (somewhat). I’m a big fan of FO, so was delighted to hear the clear fuzz solos, finally after a decade of straining to hear those solos which are buried in the Ryko mix. There is also some additional chatter on Monster Magnet, at the end that was NOT on the Ryko mix. I cant really explain it but the Ryko album sounds more like a Zappa album, while this one sounds like a 60’s album.
    The second disc is quite a fascinating hodge podge look into the MO part of MOFO. MY personal favorites are the extended jams which prevade Trouble, Freak Out Drum Track, Zilophone and Low Budget. Compiled together with the remix of Help I’m a Rock, you can produce your own Freak Out performance.
    These jams are what makes the second disc for me because it is a sound and a side to the early Mothers hitherto unknown to us. Who could imagine… that they were such a great improv band. Oddly enough, these jams sound like the better jams on Velvet Underground with Nico album. Probably Tom Wilson’s influence on the whole affair.
    I find that the linear notes are a bit scanty on details re: the music and the recording of it. They get too hung up on Zappa’s legacy and the general ‘brilliance’ of this album. Not shit, shiny beast, let’s piece together when where and what was recorded, mixed, remixed (and why) etc. A couple good photos of Zappa, only one new photo of the Mothers. If you have a casual interest in Freak Out, GO AHEAD AND BUY IT. If you got the 4 disc, GO AHEAD AND DOWNLOAD IT

  4. okay i think i got confused with this and the other mofo in my previous review – and with good reason. there were so many unnessecary outtakes on the 4 CD set that loads could have gone and made way for the extra disc that comes with this.
    either way vinyl freak out = good
    vinyl freak out = THE BEST

Comments are closed.