15 thoughts on “Mama MOFO On The Move”

  1. Can you write here the tracklist when you’ll recive it? I can’t wait to see if there is any unreleased composition! ;)

  2. Indeed…I think quite a few among us are curious to find out if the 4CD MOFO is just more filler akin to mini MOFO.

  3. I’m waiting anxiously now for my copy to arrive. I won one via Zappateers, so it has to get to Binghamton, then will be sent to me back in Culver City. Hopefully I’ll get it before the New Year…

  4. I can’t wait to read reviews/tracklists for it to see if it’s worth ponying up the extra dough for the 4cd version, sticking with the 2cd version, or skipping the set altogether (though that’s pretty unlikely).

    I hope they continue release more extended FZ albums. Can you imagine what a 4CD WOIIFTM would be like? Alternate censored versions abound! And maybe an edition of Uncle Meat that restores the original tracklist instead of adding Ya Hozna and all that dialogue filler. Or finally a Cruisin’ that doesn’t sound like a bad 1980s mashup. I think I just drooled a little.

  5. Hey! I haven’t got that yet, but I’ve got the list!!!

    “Disc I: Freak OUT! (VERVE version we all love)

    Disc II: Mono Except * = Stereo
    1. Hungry Freaks Daddy (Vocal Overdub Take I)
    2. Any Way the Wind Blows (Vocal Overdub)
    3. Go Cry on Somebody Else’s Shoulder (Vocal Overdub Take II)
    4. I Ain’t Got No Heart (Vocal Overdub Master Take)
    5. Motherly Love (Vocal Overdub Master Takes)
    6. I’m Not Satisfied (2nd Overdub Master, Take 2)
    7. You’re Probably Wondering Why I’m Here (incomplete takes)
    8. You’re Probably Wondering Why I’m Here (Basic Tracks)
    9. Who Are the Brain Police (Basic Tracks)
    10. How Could I Be Such A Fool (Basic Tracks)
    11. Any Way The Wind Blows (Basic Tracks)
    12. Go Cry On Somebody Else’s Shoulder (Basic Tracks)
    13. I Ain’t Got No Heart* (Basic Tracks)
    14. You Didn’t Try to Call me (Basic Tracks)
    15. Trouble Every Day (Basic Tracks)
    16. Help I’m A Rock (FZ Edit)
    17. Who Are The Brain Police (Alternate Take)
    18. Groupie Bang Bang* (Unleased Take from the Freak Out! Sessions)
    19. Hold On To Your Small Tiny Horses….*

    Disc III: All Tracks Mono
    1. Objects
    2. Freak Trim (Kim Outs A Big Idea)
    3. Percussion Insert Session Snoop
    4. Freak Out Drum Track with Timp and Lion
    5. Percussion Object 1 & 2 (FZ Edit)
    6. Lion Roars and Drums from Freak Out
    7. Vito Rocks the Floor (Greek Out!)
    8. “Low Budget Rock & Roll Band”
    9. Suzy Creamcheese (What’s Got into You?)
    10-14 from the Fillmore @ San Francisco, 6/25/66
    10. Motherly Love
    11. You Didn’t Try to Call Me
    12. I’m Not Satisfied
    13. Hungry Freaks Daddy
    14. Go Cry On Somebody Else’s Shoulder

    Disc IV: (All Tracks Stereo except Track 5)
    1. Wowie Zowie
    2. Who Are The Brain Police (Sections A, C, B)
    3. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
    4. Cream Cheese (Work Part)
    5. Trouble Every Day (MGM edit)
    6. It Can’t Happen Here (MotherMania Version)
    Interview Excerpts
    7. Psychedelic Music
    8. MGM
    9. Dope Fiend Music
    10. How We Made it Sound That Way
    11. Poop Rock
    12. Machinery
    13. Psychedelic Upholstery
    14. Psychedelic Money
    All Tracks Remixed with Bob Stone at UMRK, 1987
    15. Who Are The Brain Police
    16. Any Way The Wind Blows
    17. Hungry Freaks Daddy
    18-21 From BBC Interview with Nigel Leigh 3/93
    18. The Original Group
    19. Necessity
    20. The Union Scale
    21. 25 Hundred Signing Fee
    Tracks 22-23 are from 1986 MTV Interview and an FZ Build REEL
    22. Tom Wilson
    23. My Pet Theory
    From 1986 Playboy Interview
    24. There Is No Need ”

    As you can see it’s worst than we aspect it, but it could be a fine treat! :)

  6. the Gorilla in the room = they didnt have enough material to fill four cds. I bet they were kicking themselves for releasing that Joe’s Corsage album. Oh well, it looks like it would be a fascinating listen and I still plan on ordering one, tell me, is there a significant difference in the liner notes?

  7. Sounds like it’ll be great to me. I’m looking forward to it, myself. If you think you’re gonna get ripped off, then you shouldn’t order anything from ZFT.

  8. Just got mine…

    Sticker on the front reads “CAUTION: Please exercise care removing discs from hubs in the package. Tolerances vary. DO NOT USE UNDUE FORCE.”

    And they aren’t kidding. Tough little suckers to get out. The second disc wasn’t loose however.

    I dig the white vinyl packaging with the puffy “Frank Zappa” sticker. I think it’s a sticker anyway. I’m not about to pry it off to check for sure.

    The package unfolds into a crosshape (Think Red Cross cross.) with the discs radiating from the center square which contains the booklet and a map.

    Now I’m off to listen…

  9. The girls think the vinyl package is SO-O cute! It’s just like their first “dear diary” they carried all those secret letters to their favorite FUG in. “I hold in my hand…”

    We’re still laughing from that Roxy joke. Nothing like an all-day laugh!

  10. I like it a lot. “Groupie Bang Bang” cracks me up and is my favorite track. And I don’t mind the mostly interview disc but then I could listen to Frank pontificate for hours…

  11. MOFO is, in my opinion, a MOFO! The basic tracks on disc 2 made me come close to tears. I have NEVER heard this music in such a way before. The arrangements are uncovered as instrunental gems on their own, even without the vocal; absolutely breathtaking. Right up there with Pet Sounds, no shit. Everything is as I hoped it would be. If any of you are real fans and want to hear how this fuckinincredible album was made in context of the times past and present, you’ll love it as much as I do. Woth the wait!! The booklet is astonishing, and Gail’s little story will hopefully help melt some of your wax hearts. OK- enough~! Listen!

Comments are closed.